Manchester City’s Erling Haaland and Chelsea’s Sam Kerr have won the player of the year awards from the Football Writers’ Association for 2022-23.

Haaland, 22, won the men’s accolade with more than 80 per cent of the vote from the journalists, the highest ever in the award’s history. The Norway striker has scored a Premier League-record 35 goals in 32 matches — with four games still left to play this season.

Kerr, 29, has scored 10 goals in 18 matches for Chelsea in the Women’s Super League so far this campaign.

The Australian forward becomes the first woman to win the award in consecutive years, following her triumph last year.

Kerr won this year’s accolade with over double the number of votes than second-placed Rachel Daly, the Aston Villa striker who has scored 20 WSL goals in 20 games this season. Chelsea’s Lauren James came third.

Following Haaland, Arsenal winger Bukayo Saka came second in the men’s voting, with team-mate Martin Odegaard in third.

Source: The Athletic

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *