Twelve African coaches have already lifted the African Cup of Nations, notably in the last two editions. They have won 16, compared with 17 for the “White Wizards” in 33 editions.

Walid Regragui, Kaba Diawara, Eric Chelle… which African coach will win the 2023 AFCON? The two previous winners, Aliou Cissé (2021) and Djamel Belmadi (2019), are indeed Africans. In fact, they seem to have inspired several other African federations. Because 14 African coaches will be on the starting grid in Côte d’Ivoire. If a son of the continent wins this 34th edition, it would be the 17th won by an African coach. A perfect tie between them and the “White Wizards”.

Twelve local coaches have won 16 trophies. Ghana’s Charles Gyamfi and Egypt’s Hassan Shehata have each won three. They hold the competition record. Gyamfi gave the Black Stars their first star in 1963. He then successfully defended his title in 1965 in Tunis, before returning to triumph for the 3rd time in 1982. Shehata, meanwhile, has won three consecutive stars with his country Egypt (2006, 2008, 2010).

List of AFCON-winning African coaches

1957 Mourad Fahmy (Egypt, 1957), Charles Gyamfi (Ghana, 1963, 1965, 1982), Amoyan Bibanzulu (Congo-Kinshasa, 1972), Fred Osam Doudou (Ghana, 1978), Abdelhamid Kermali (Algeria, 1990), Martial Yeo (Ivory Coast,1992), Clive Barker (South Africa, 1996), Mahmoud Al Gohari (Egypt, 1998), Hassan Shehata (Egypt, 2006, 2008, 2010), Stephen Keshi (Nigeria, 2013), Djamel Belmadi (Algeria, 2019), Aliou Cissé (Senegal, 2021).

List of non-African AFCON-winning coaches

Josef Titkos (Hungary, 1959), Milosevic (Yugoslavia, 1962), Ferenc Csandai (Hungary, 1968), Jiri Starosta (Czechoslovakia, 1970), Blagoje Vidinic (Yugoslavia, 1974), Gheorghe Mardarescu (Romania, 1976), 1980 Otto Gloria (Brazil), Rade Ognanovic (Yugoslavia,1984), Mike Smith (Wales, 1986), 1988 Claude LeRoy (France), Clemens Westerhof (Netherlands, 1994), Pierre Lechantre (France, 2000), Winfried Schafer (Germany, 2002), Roger Lemerre (France, 2004), Hervé Renard (France, 2012, 2015), Hugo Broos (Belgium, 2017).

The 24 AFCON 2023 coaches

Zambia: Avram Grant (Israel)

Tunisia: Jalel Kadri (Tunisia)

Tanzania: Adel Amrouche (Algeria)

Senegal: Aliou Cissé (Senegal)

DR Congo: Sébastien Desabre (France)

Nigeria: Jose Pereiro (Portugal)

Namibia: Benjamin Collin (Namibia)

Mozambique: Chiquinho Conde (Mozambique)

Mauritania: Amir Abdou (Comoros)

Mali: Eric Chelle (Mali)

Morocco: Walid Regragui (Morocco)

Equatorial Guinea: Juan Micha (Equatorial Guinea)

Guinea Bissau: Baciro Candé (Guinea Bissau)

Guinea: Kaba Diawara (Guinea)

Ghana: Chris Hughton (Ireland)

Gambia: Tom Sainfiet (Belgium)

Egypt : Rui Vitoria (Portugal)

Ivory Coast: Jean Louis Gasset (France)

Cape Verde: Bubista (Cape Verde)

Cameroon: Rigobert Song (Cameroon)

Burkina Faso: Hubert Velud (France)

Angola: Pedro Gonçalves (Portugal)

Algeria: Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)

South Africa: Hugo Broos (Belgium)

Source: SNA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *