Steve Kerr: The Lord of the Rings of the NBA both as a coach and as a player

He is the only one in history with at least four championships in both capacities.

Golden State Warriors coach Steve Kerr may not have been the greatest player, nor the greatest coach in the history of the game, but when it comes to winning championships, there is no one like him doing it in both facets, a legacy that makes him unique in history after the first 75 seasons in NBA history.

With the victory over the Boston Celtics in the NBA Finals, Kerr managed to lift his fourth Larry O’Brien Trophy as coach in six opportunities, as if that were not enough in his life as a player he won five championship rings, three with the Chicago Bulls and two more with the San Antonio Spurs.

Steve Kerr’s five championships as a player

Kerr came to the Bulls in 1993, just when Michael Jordan retired for the first time, after an erratic passage through four teams. After a discreet first year, he became an ideal complementary piece to MJ in the achievement of a three-championship in the 1996, 1997 and 1998 Finals, in the second of which he made a key shot to secure the victory in Game 6 against the Utah Jazz.

After “Air Jordan’s” second retirement, the Bulls were dismantled and Kerr was traded to the Spurs, winning his fourth consecutive championship in a strike-shortened season that saw David Robinson and Tim Duncan’s team crowned for the first time.

Kerr left San Antonio in 2001 but returned in 2003, his last year as a player, and retired again as a champion.

Steve Kerr’s four championships as coach

His coaching career began in 2014-2015 with the Warriors and that same rookie year he won his first championship as a strategist, beating the Cleveland Cavaliers.

After that his legacy has increased surpassing in quality what he did as a player, with a style that has revolutionized modern basketball, based offensively on three-point shooting with Stephen Curry as the standard bearer.

Kerr has managed to lead the Warriors to six NBA Finals and in addition to the aforementioned championship in 2015, he has lifted the Larry O’Brien Trophy in 2017, 2018 and now in 2022, a total of nine rings, but he is also the only one to achieve at least four as a player and as a coach.

Source: Marca

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.