Rio Ferdinand, Petr Cech, and Tony Adams have been inducted into the English Premier League (EPL) Hall of Fame. 

The new batch of induction was announced in a post on the league’s Twitter handle on Wednesday.

The three football icons join Alex Ferguson and Arsene Wenger who were announced in March as the “Class of 2023” inductees.

Ferdinand, the former Manchester United defender, won six Premier League titles in a 12-year spell at Old Trafford and also played for Leeds, West Ham and QPR.

Cech won four league titles with Chelsea before joining Arsenal in 2015. He holds the record for the most clean sheets in the EPL with 202 in 443 games.

Adams became Arsenal’s captain at 21 and led the club to four league titles in his 19-year playing career at the Highbury stadium.

The trio were selected ahead of 12 other nominees by the public, through an online vote, and the Premier League Awards panel.

Other nominees were Yaya Toure, Ashley Cole, Gary Neville, Sol Campbell, Jermain Defoe, Michael Owen, Michael Carrick, Les Ferdinand, John Terry, Andrew Cole, Robbie Fowler, and Nemanja Vidic.

The EPL Hall of Fame was launched in 2021 as “the highest individual honour awarded to players by the Premier League.”

Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer were the inaugural inductees before David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane, and Frank Lampard completed the “Class of 2021.”

In 2022, Didier Drogba, Sergio Aguero, and Paul Scholes were added to the list alongside Vincent Kompany, Ian Wright, Peter Schmeichel, Wayne Rooney, and Patrick Vieira.

Source: Sky Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *