Bayern Munich wins 10th consecutive Bundesliga title

Bayern Munich have won their 10th straight Bundesliga title after winning Saturday’s Der Klassiker 3-1 against Borussia Dortmund.

Serge Gnabry put Bayern ahead with a spectacular volley after 15 minutes, with Bundesliga top scorer Robert Lewandowski then doubling the lead with his 33rd goal of the season.

Emre Can looked to have hauled Dortmund back into the game after converting a 52nd minute penalty, but 19-year-old Jamal Musiala sealed the title after scoring Bayern’s third goal with 10 minutes remaining. The teenager impressed throughout, brilliantly providing an assist for Lewandowski’s strike.

Although this title is the latest in Bayern’s continuing dominance of German football, it is head coach Julian Nagelsmann’s first.

The 34-year-old succeeded Hansi Flick at the start of the season.

Under Nagelsmann, Bayern also lifted the DFL Supercup in August but were knocked out of the DFB Pokal by Borussia Monchengladbach in the second round and the Champions League by Villarreal in the quarter-finals.

Bayern have enjoyed a very successful Bundesliga season, however, losing just four of their 31 matches and scoring 92 goals along the way.

Dortmund, who are 12 points behind Bayern with three games to play, were the last side to win the Bundesliga other than Nagelsmann’s side.

Under Jurgen Klopp, the Liverpool manager, they won back-to-back Bundesliga titles in the 2010-11 and 2011-12 campaigns.

Wolfsburg were the last side outside of German football’s biggest two clubs to win the title, triumphing in 2008-09.